Sahitya Akademi Award Winners In English Language

Sahitya Akademi is a India’s national Academy of Letters which offers the award to all outstanding writers. The Sahitya Academy award is the honor to the writers which have provided an extra value to the writing in India. This award is given in all languages differently.

The winners of Sahitya Akademi Award are-

Sahitya Akademi Award 1960: R. K. Narayan for “The Guide”

Sahitya Akademi Award 2014: Adil Jussawala for “Trying to Say Goodbye”

The full list of award winners from the year 1960- 2017 are listed in the table below. For GK perspective, the knowledge of these awardees are important.


Serial No. Book Year of Award Books (Category) Writer
1 The Guide 1960 Novel R. K. Narayan
2 The Serpent and the Rope 1964 Novel Raja Rao
3 The Tribal World of Verrier Elwin 1965 Autobiography Verrier Elwin
4 Shadow From Ladakh 1967 Novel Bhabani Bhattacharya
5 An Artist In Life 1969 Biography Niharranjan Ray
6 Morning Face 1971 Novel Mulk Raj Anand
7 Scholar Extraordinary 1975 Biography Nirad C. Chaudhuri
8 Jawaharlal Nehru 1976 Biography Sarvepalli Gopal
9 Azadi 1977 Novel Chaman Nahal
10 Fire on the Mountain 1978 Novel Anita Desai
11 Inside the Haveli 1979 Novel Rama Mehta
12 On the Mother 1980 Biography K. R. Srinivasa Iyengar
13 Relationship 1981 Poetry Jayanta Mahapatra
14 The Last Labyrinth 1982 Novel Arun Joshi
15 Latter-Day Psalms 1983 Poetry Nissim Ezekiel
16 The Keeper of the Dead 1984 Poetry Keki N. Daruwalla
17 Collected Poems 1985 Poetry Kamala Das
18 Rich Like Us 1986 Novel Nayantara Sahgal
19 Trapfalls In the Sky 1987 Poetry Shiv K. Kumar
20 The Golden Gate 1988 Novel Vikram Seth
21 The Shadow Lines 1989 Novel Amitav Ghosh
22 That Long Silence 1990 Novel Shashi Deshpande
23 The Trotter-Nama 1991 Novel I. Allan Sealy
24 Our Trees Still Grow In Dehra 1992 Short Stories Ruskin Bond
24 After Amnesia 1993 Essays G. N. Devy
26 Serendip 1994 Poetry Dom Moraes
27 Memories of Rain 1996 Novel Sunetra Gupta
28 Final Solutions and Other Plays 1998 Drama Mahesh Dattani
29 The Collected Poems 1999 Poetry A. K. Ramanujan
30 Cuckold 2000 Novel Kiran Nagarkar
31 Rajaji: A Life 2001 Biography Rajmohan Gandhi
32 A New World 2002 Novel Amit Chaudhuri
33 The Perishable Empire 2003 Essays Meenakshi Mukherjee
34 The Mammaries of the Welfare State 2004 Novel Upamanyu Chatterjee
35 The Sari Shop 2006 Novel Rupa Bajwa
36 Disorderly Women 2007 Novel Malathi Rao
37 Mahabharata: An Inquiry into the Human Condition 2009 Criticism Chaturvedi Badrinath
38 The Book of Rachel 2010 Novel Esther David
39 India after Gandhi 2011 Historical Narrative Ramachandra Guha
40 These Errors are Correct 2012 Poetry Jeet Thayil
41 Laburnum For My Head 2013 Short stories Temsula Ao
42 Trying to Say Goodbye 2014 Poetry Adil Jussawala
43 Chronicle of a Corpse Bearer 2015 Novel Cyrus Mistry
44 Em and the big Hoom 2016 Novel Jerry Pinto
45 The Black Hill 2017 Novel Mamang Dai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *